Liebster Award

A few days ago Feifei from Things on Feifei’s Mind nominated me for a Liebster Award. It seems this is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers that are starting or have less than 200 followers. Thanks a lot for thinking about me, Feifei!

The rules for the award state that I have to answer 10 questions that Feifei asked me. So, here I go!

1. What made you choose the life of an expat and/or traveler in China?

I can’t really say I chose it. The first time I came to China I wasn’t very convinced about it and didn’t intend to stay for such a long time. Let’s say I ended up in China because when I graduated from University I was just 21 and I didn’t want to start working that fast. So I went to Beijing to study and realized I liked China.

2. What are your top 3 places you want to visit in the future?

Inside China: the Longmen caves in Henan, Fenghuang in Hunan and Jiuzhaigou in Sichuan. But I want to go in low season to avoid the crowds, haha.

Outside China: Bagan, in Myanmar (I love old stones); Borobudur, in Indonesia (more old rocks) and Singapore (my German sister works there and I would like to visit her).

3. What is the greatest travel memory you have?

The 26 days I spent backpacking with my friend Anna in Vietnam and Cambodia. She is an amazing travel companion and we had so much fun together. I think she also remembers this trip as a very special one as every time we meet (she now lives in Philippines) she mentions something related to that trip.

4. If you could give one piece of advice to someone who was thinking about expatriating, what would it be?

If you are expecting to live in exactly the same way as in your hometown, then don’t do it.

5. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I really have no idea. I can’t really say where I see myself in 6 months. I hope in 5 years I will be working in something that I enjoy.

6. If you have some spare time, what do you do?

I spend too much time on the internet, blogging in English and Spanish and playing Popmundo. I also participate in a lot of MOOC’s. Right now I’m studying history of China in EdX. I also read books (mainly novels and comic books) and watch movies. And I really should clean the apartment on my spare time.

7. What is the most delicious food you have ever eaten?

Well, as Chinese people say I’m a 吃货 and I like everything. I can’t say just one thing. Seriously, I like everything (except for green, red and yellow pepper). I even like the food in our company’s food hall, when not even Chinese people like it.

8. Why did you start blogging?

My first blog wasn’t even a blog, it was a fotolog where you could post one picture a day with some text. I started it 10 years ago. I don’t really know why I started it but I have always liked writing. And I like reading old posts and remembering past events.

9. What do you miss most from “home”?

Just family and friends. Well, and maybe blue skies and clean air.

10. Which picture is your favourite travel shot? Why?

P1010302Well, I don’t know if this can be considered a travel shot as it was taken when I was living in Beijing. It is my favourite shot from China. It was taken in January 2010 in 紫竹院公园 (Purple Bamboo Park), Beijing. Every time I see it I can’t help but laugh at the contrast between the sign and the 200 people skating behind it.

My nomination for a Liebster Award:

I will nominate a blog that I discovered recently: A Total Tai Tai Tale (I love the name), an expat Taitai in my beloved Beijing.

The rules for nominees (if they accept the award):

1. Thank the person who nominated you and give a link to their blog. 

2. You must answer these ten questions:

1. What made you choose the life of an expat and/or traveler in China?

2. What are your top 3 places you want to visit in the future?

3. What is the greatest travel memory you have?

4. If you could give one piece of advice to someone who was thinking about expatriating, what would it be?

5. Where do you see yourself in five years?

6. If you have some spare time, what do you do?

7. What is the most delicious food you have ever eaten?

8. Why did you start blogging?

9. What do you miss most from “home”?

10. Which picture is your favourite travel shot? Why? (post the picture with your answer)

(I borrowed Feifei’s questions!)

3. You must nominate any number of your favourite blogs with less than 200 followers and let them know. 

4. You must come up with ten questions for your nominees to answer or you’re welcome to use the above questions. 

