Shanghai Bloggers App Launch Party

A few weeks ago I received an email from Line, an expat woman living in Shanghai and author of the blog Shanghai Habits. She told me she and her partner Nando had created an app called Shanghai Bloggers and their aim was to bring together all the bloggers in Shanghai. She asked me if I wanted to join them! After some hesitation (because my blog is not really about Shanghai I thought I would not fit in, but Line encouraged me to join!) I agreed and I was added to their list of wonderful bloggers.

I thought that would be all. But it wasn’t! A few days later I received another email: there was going to be a party to celebrate the launching of the app and I was a VIP guest, as one of the bloggers included! The party was going to be in a restaurant in the iapm mall, one of the newest and fanciest shopping centers in Shanghai. Wow, that sounded amazing!

So on Thursday, after work, I headed to the party. I went alone, as C. was busy in Suzhou and a blogger friend I asked to come was also busy with a school event. And when I arrived… well, let’s say I wasn’t expecting such a professional looking party. It was in a beautiful terrace overlooking the center of Shanghai and there was a lot of people! I was inmediately recognized by the lovely Line, who greeted me, put my name in the bowl for the lucky draw and introduced me to their partner from the restaurant, who chatted with me for a bit.

The party!

The party!

The views!

The views!

I have to confess I felt a little bit overwhelmed at first. I am not exactly a social butterfly and I am pretty much unable to start a conversation out of the blue with the person standing next to me. I was always shy in Spain. I am not shy in China (it’s like speaking in Chinese makes me be a different person) but most people in this party were foreigners and they all seemed to know each other. I wandered around a bit, got a drink, took some pictures and tried some of the snacks. Then Line gave a short speech thanking us all for coming and introducing all the sponsors who had prepared gifts for the bloggers. Wait, what? Apart from free drinks and snacks, I get gifts? Yay! The lucky draw was also done right after Line’s speech. And guess what… I won a prize: a bag from Sprout Lifestyle containing two big packets of assorted nuts (I love nuts), several herbal teas and a voucher for a private cooking/nutrition class for up to 4 people valued at 2000 RMB.

Winning the prize was a good conversation starter and the two girls standing by my side started talking to me. Their blogs were also included in the app: Veronica Darling (her blog is about sewing, she makes all her clothes herself!) and Melissa from The Pursuit of Snackiness. Melissa works at Fields, an online grocery story that was one of the sponsors of the party. She had checked all the blogs and prepared personalized gifts for all the bloggers; she told me my gift bag included zongzi! During the party I also met another blogger who writes about fashion in Shic Shanghai. However, most of the time I was chatting in Chinese with the Hunanese boyfriend of one of the bloggers.

Free treats!

Free food!

When it was time to go back home I found myself carrying 4 heavy bags full of goodies! Zongzi, lychees and a discount coupon courtesy of Fields and the charming Melissa; organic cherry tomatoes, chocolate, goji berries covered in yoghourt, 2 varieties of mayonnaise sauce and a discount coupon from Hunter Gatherer; a lavender cupcake from Babycakes; a wine bottle opener from BottlesXO; a lotion from Eco&More; and vouchers from Bon App (an app to discover and review restaurants in Shanghai, FSJuice (cold-pressed juices), SaucePan (they deliver prepared ingredients and cooking instructions), The Cut (the restaurant where the event took place); and 4 free spinning classes from Becycle. We also got “business cards” from Shanghai Bloggers to give to friends so they can directly download the app and follow us!

Personalized tags in my gift bags :)

Personalized tags in my gift bags :)

My loot!

My loot!

It was definitely a very interesting experience. I had never been to a blogging event before and this was just amazing. Besides, I have already devoured some of the presents (the zongzi were amazing! and the yoghourt covered goji berries! and the lychees were so sweet!) and with all the vouchers I will probably eat for free in the next month or so, haha.

Thanks a lot to the incredible people behind Shanghai Bloggers, Line and Nando, for making this possible! And if you want to download the app you can find it on Apple’s App Store! There’s also a link here. I already downloaded it on C.’s ipad!

Have you ever been to a blogging event? 

