Childhood pictures: Asia vs Europe

Last week when I was writing the post about cultural references I thought about decorating it with some pictures from our childhood. However I didn’t have any picture of C. as a child in the computer, so I didn’t do it. But I asked C.’s mum if she had any old photos of him on her phone… and all hells broke loose. She sent me a bunch of deliciously ridicule pictures that had me laughing for a long time. I forwarded them to C. and he published some of them in his WeChat moments, to the joy of his friends, colleagues and clients. He didn’t post the worst ones, though. Those ones in which his aunt dressed him as a girl, with earrings, necklaces and a flower in his hair (he totally looks like a girl!). Unfortunately I cannot post those pictures either because my physical integrity would be in danger, so you will have to do with the non-transvestite ones and imagine the rest. By the way, a couple of years ago the Chinese internet was flooding with extremely awkward childhood photos that everybody shared online. It seems taking weird studio pictures of your children was a national pastime in the 80s. And, believe me, they are way worse than that photo of you naked that your mum likes showing when someone visits her. You don’t believe me? Well, check this link.

So, C.’s pictures. Taken in the middle-late eighties:

mmexport1435241048211

In Spanish we would call this a “bread face”.

mmexport1435241084053

When he was a child he looked like his mum. Now he is 100% his dad.

mmexport1435241120802

These trousers are so high he would not need to wear a shirt anymore.

In a space rocket?

In a space rocket?

I asked his mum what's with the red face. She said he was so cute everybody pinched his cheeks. Right...

I asked his mum what’s with the red face. She said he was so cute everybody pinched his cheeks. Right…

mmexport1435242858743

Is it me or did his eyes become smaller with the years??

It wouldn’t be fair if I only posted pictures of him, right? So I will “delight” you with some of my 80s pictures. Unfortunately I don’t have many, but just a few days ago my brother scanned some old slides in which I must be around 3 and we were in the countryside on a weekend or something. I have a few others that I posted in an old website.

This is me crying because a rooster had tried to peck at me. If you see the rooster in the background, it's kind of huge!!

This is me crying and running towards my parents because a rooster had tried to peck at me. If you see the rooster in the background, it’s kind of huge!!

Riding a horse with my dad, who in this picture is younger than I am now. Omg...

Riding a horse with my dad, who in this picture is younger (and way skinnier) than I am now. Omg…

I must be like 7 months in here.

I must be like 7 months in here.

The first passport sized picture I took, to register for preschool.

The first passport sized picture I took, to register for preschool.

Dressed as a fairy for some costume party.

Dressed as a fairy for some costume party.

As you can see, we European kids lack the fancy studio pictures Chinese kids have. I’m not sure this is a disadvantage though…

I dare you!! Will you publish your embarrasing (or not) childhood pictures on your blog? ;)

