Cooking for dummies

A few months ago I said I couldn’t cook many things and I hadn’t used the oven much. Well, thanks to my new status as a stay-at-home translator, that is changing! I was worried I would be fed up of eating rice and pasta after a few weeks, but I think that is not going to happen, thanks to two amazing objects that are changing my cooking habits!

I have always been a lousy cook, the kind that always forgets to add salt and is too scared to try new recipes. Also, the only way of cooking vegetables that I knew was boiling them. Yep, not the most appetizing method. Now, I go to the market and just grab any veggies I see, and I start drooling thinking about lunch time!

Are you super intrigued? What on Earth did I discover? Am I going to make RealGunners’ Lazy Man recipes look like his beloved (but complicated) Jamie Oliver’s recipes?

Well, the first answer is quite obvious. I started using the oven. The other day, while working, I suddenly had a revelation: the words “grilled vegetables” came to my mind and I googled them. Jackpot! Doing grilled vegetables is very easy! So I went to the shop and bought zucchini, eggplant, pumpkin, tomatoes, mushrooms, broccoli… and did this super complicated stuff:

  1. I started the oven at 180ºC.
  2. I washed and cut all the veggies.
  3. I covered an oven tray with foil and spread some oil on it.
  4. I put the veggies on the tray, and sprikled salt, oil and dried parsley on them.
  5. I checked if the oven was 180ºC or not. (I have an oven thermometer).
  6. When it was 180ºC, I put the tray with the veggies inside the oven. Oh, and managed to burn myself. Now I have a blister on the tip of my middle finger.
  7. After aprox. 30 minutes I took the tray out and ate ate ate.

IMG_20160105_194517_AO_HDR

I can hear you all saying: “Hellooooo, this is common knowledge, everybody knows this”. Well, as I said, I am a lousy cook. I had never tried. Even though the veggies had different cooking times, I was lucky and everything was good (the mushrooms became super small though. I will try bigger ones next time). The broccoli was a big success.

The second object that is changing my life is something that I also had for a long time but never used. One of my friends left China in June last year and I “inherited” a lot of her things. One of them was a recipient for cooking in the microwave. I put it in a cupboard and never thought about it again. Until the other day, when I was thinking how to prepare some frozen fish fillets I bought. IMG_20160106_130504

I tell you, this is the best invention of the century. You put the ingredients, close the recipient, put it in the microwave for 5 minutes and it is done. And it is good! It is also healthy because you don’t need to use oil, the food is steamed in its own juices. I have cooked fish fillet with broccoli and mushroom omelette in this thing. IMG_20160108_131741_AO_HDR

If you are curious about it, you can look it up. The brand is called Lekue and this recipient is called steam case. I have seen it on Amazon, but I’m not sure if it is available in all countries. (I saw it on Taobao too!).

