Spring

I don’t want to say it very loud lest she is scared and runs away, but… it seems spring is here! Finally I will be able to stop shivering inside our apartment and my hands will not be freezing to the touch. Did I tell you that a few weeks ago I got chilblains on my right hand? I thought chilblains were a thing of the past, when living conditions were not so good, but I was mistaken. They still exist and they have come to annoy me. My fingers look like purple sausages and the doctor says I will have to be very careful in the winter from now on or I will get them every year. They are itchy and painful. I officially hate winter. I used to love it (when I lived in places with central heating).

But, as I was saying, spring is here! The field of plum trees (or are they cherry trees? can’t tell both trees apart) close to our place was an explosion of blossoms and lots of people were taking pictures.

The pants building is in the background!

The pants building is in the background!

The sea of blossoms.

The sea of blossoms.

Inside our residential compound there are also a lot of trees with flowers. There is this one that I didn’t notice on past years and had no idea what it was. I asked my Chinese friends and, according to wikipedia, the English name of this curious flower is oriental paperbush.

In fact it is many flowers in one!

In fact it is many flowers in one!

There are also many magnolia trees around (is that the correct name?). Just besides our building entrance there is one and a couple of days ago, in the evening, when I went down to walk the dog, I found out the temperature was warmer and the magnolia tree had bloomed. I spontaneously smiled and made a little chuckling sound. Then I noticed the neighbour in the first floor was looking outside his window. He might have thought foreigners are crazy, smiling at flowers.

A magnolia tree on the street. The one besides my door has white flowers.

A magnolia tree on the street. The one beside my door has white flowers.

These days I am so busy at work that my only distraction during weekdays is walking the dog and looking at the flowers. I like being busy, but I miss having time to read blogs!

