Our Christmas Eve dinner

This has been the first year that I have arranged a Christmas Eve dinner in Suzhou. I never did it before because, to be honest, I’m not a very Christmasy person. It was fun when I was a kid, but now it’s just meh. Also because it’s not a holiday in China and these past years it always fell in the middle of the week. But this timeI decided to celebrate it and invite C.’s parents! We only did the eating part though, no presents.

I am not a great cook. I normally prepare very simple things that are definitely not worthy of a Christmas Eve dinner. To up my game I combed the internet for fancy but easy to make recipes and with ingredients I could easily buy here. I found a few interesting ones in the blog of a Spanish woman and headed to an imported food products supermarket close to home.

In my family the menu was always similar in Christmas Eve: varied and very abundant hors d’oeuvres, then broth, a main dish (meat or fish) and lots of traditional sweets for dessert. So for my first Christmas Eve dinner as a host and main cook, I did something similar. This was what we ate:

  • Hors d’oeuvres: prawns, Spanish cold cuts (jamón, chorizo, lomo), cheese, smoked salmon, bread with cream cheese and ham paté, avocado slices rolled with bacon and spinach and mushroom muffins.
  • Potato and apple vichyssoise.
  • Roasted pork loin with honey and mustard sauce.
  • Chocolates.

I was not sure how C.’s parents would react to my food as they usually only eat Chinese food. But luckily they tried everything and said it was good! We considered buying some cake for dessert but decided not to in the end and it was a good idea, as there was so much food and we ended up really stuffed (also because I miscalculated the quantities for the vichyssoise and made A LOT. That thing was almost a full meal in itself).

Here are some pictures from our dinner. I hope you had a nice holiday too!

mmexport1482578293054

I even got a Christmasy tablecloth!

mmexport1482578282313

The main dish (that we just ate a little bit from because we were already full).

The main dish (that we just ate a little bit from because we were already full).

img_20161224_173743

Our Christmas Eve selfie.

Nico also ate much more than usual!!

Nico also ate much more than usual!!

