Cáceres, my hometown

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’m back in Spain organising our wedding. I’ve had a hectic couple of weeks as I still had to do all my usual work (hooray for telecommuting!), plus meet with several vendors (the catering, the decorator, the florist, the salon, the band… the photographer does not live here, if not I would’ve had to meet him too!), see my hometown friends and family, and organise the travel itinerary for C., his parents and his friends. I think I grew a few more white hairs! I’m not very inspired these days to write on the blog, so I thought about doing a brief introduction of my hometown. Hope you like it!

Location of the region of Extremadura. Cáceres is under the red X.

Cáceres (that’s the name of my hometown) is the capital of the province of the same name and has a population of around 90,000. It is located in the center-west of Spain, 300 km west of Madrid, 300 km north of Seville and 100 km from the Portuguese border. If you want to visit off the beaten path destinations in Spain, Cáceres is a good candidate, together with the whole region, which is called Extremadura. We are known in Spain for being a sparsely populated and kind of underdeveloped region (there’s not a lot of industry here, unemployment rates are high and our trains are always late or break down) so, to counter this, we have many beautiful villages, natural parks, Roman ruins, medieval towns, pristine rivers, natural pools, castles and good food. Disclosure: the tourism bureau is NOT giving me any money for writing this, haha. But if you want to read more information about the region, check their website. In this post I’ll just focus on my hometown.

Cáceres is mainly known (but not too much) because it was included in the Unesco’s World Heritage Sites list in 1986, the reason being: The old town combines Roman, Islamic, Northern Gothic, and Italian Renaissance architectural influences, including more than 30 Islamic towers. I went to the old town on Saturday morning because the bank where my mum works had organised a basketball event in the main square there and I took some pictures. As you can see, there was a lot of people because of the event. Usually it’s quite empty!

They put some portable hoops and voila! Basketbal event in the main square. On the left you can see the Bujaco Tower, from the 12th century.

The building on the right is the town hall.

After watching a bit the people playing basketball, we went to take a walk in the old town. By the way, did I mention that Cáceres appeared in the last season of Game of Thrones? In case you haven’t watched it yet, I will paint the following sentences white. If you watched it or don’t mind the spoilers, select the text and read on! Cáceres portrayed both King’s Landing and Oldtown. When Euron returns to King’s Landing with Yara and Ellaria as prisoners and the people cheer him, those streets are Cáceres. When Sam and Gilly pack and leave Oldtown, those streets are Cáceres. Also, the field where the battle between Jaime’s army and the dragon takes place is just 10 km away from here. And the castle from where Jaime and Bronn watch Daenerys’ army in the last episode is in another town 40 km from here. The shooting last year was the most exciting event around here in years, it seems!

The city wall is on the right.

The bishop’s palace.

Hanggai played in this little square in front of the church a few years ago! Every year in May there is a world music festival. Video of their performance here! (Starts at 2:30)

The inside of one of the houses.

Can you spot the peacock?

I liked this sign from a souvenir shop.

From here you can see up to a mountain range almost 200 km away! We obviously have no pollution at all!

The arch leading to the main square.

