Weekend in Hong Kong

I spent last weekend in Hong Kong, courtesy of my company! Two colleagues that work from home in Shanghai and I were flown to Shenzhen on Friday, where we had a meeting. It was nice to see my colleagues again, as usually I just chat with them on QQ. Then on Saturday we all went to Hong Kong to spend the day together.

We had arranged four private mini vans to cross the border. I had never done this before and now that I have experience I can say: when crossing the border by car on a weekend, it’s faster if you get off and cross the usual way than if you line up and cross in the cars queue, which is super slow. Cars with only the driver can pass very fast, but cars with passengers take longer. We had to wait like 2 hours. After finally arriving to Hong Kong island we had a late lunch and then headed for the star of our trip: the beach!

Waiting for the bus to go to the beach.

Waiting for the bus to go to the beach.

I think I have to explain something here. When growing up, I basically spent the whole summer in the beach. I would first stay with my grandparents in a town located in the south western coast of Spain, and then would spend another month in the beach in Catalonia, where my mom’s side of the family lives. For me, summer means sea, sand and sun (and lots of sunscreen). The first summer in which I didn’t go to the beach was 2010, when I was working in the Shanghai Expo. Then last year I was also working the whole summer and couldn’t go. As you can expect, my beach cravings were pretty bad. But I didn’t realize how much I had missed the beach until we arrived to Repulse Bay, in the south side of Hong Kong island. I didn’t want to leave. I wanted to stay there forever. The apartments in that part of the island are ridiculously expensive, by the way. But I will buy one when I’m a millionaire. Not only because of the beach. I love Hong Kong, in general. It is a very cool city.

The beach! Less crowded than expected.

The beach! Less crowded than expected.

Expensive apartments in Repulse Bay.

Expensive apartments in Repulse Bay.

IMG_6950

 

This time my visit to Hong Kong was very short, as I had to leave on Sunday, and from Shenzhen airport, which meant I had to leave HK by 12 pm. I didn’t even have time to go to Sasa and buy cosmetics! (That is what everybody who lives in China does when going to Hong Kong; branded cosmetics are cheaper there). But on Sunday morning I did the superhuman effort of getting up early because I wanted to go to Victoria Peak. I hadn’t been there in 7 years! Thankfully my workmate J. was also up to it. If it had been me alone I might have stayed in bed and miss this view!

IMG_6977

 

IMG_6981

 

Travel tip: if you want to take the tram to get to Victoria Peak, get up early! When we arrived at 8 am it was empty, but when we went back at 10 am the line was crazy long. The tram is the fastest way to get to the peak and the return ticket is 40 HKD. If you feel like going to the beach, the ones in the south side of the island can be easily reached by bus. Repulse Bay beach has big facilities with showers and changing rooms, and also trees in the higher part of the sand, so you can have some shadow.

